Not Just A Blonde

We are "Not Just" who we seem to be on this Earthly plane, but so much more. We are ALL children of a loving God who is calling us home to Love. This blog is dedicated to those of us on that journey together…

I realize this is a spiritual blog, but believe me when I say this: thirty days without sugar is as much a spiritual challenge as it is a challenge for my health. I’ve shared with y’all before about my Starbucks addiction… and I truly was released from it… but I just transferred it to another edible item… and I’m convinced as I gave that up (The Pink Walrus if you must know!) that another transfer of addiction would take place. Sigh.

The truth is, I’m genetically prone to diabetes. I’ve also noticed that I’ve been craving sugar more and more and caving into that craving more and more as well! It’s making the scale go up, my clothes are getting tighter and I am just not thinking clearly not do I have the energy to finish my day… I hit a wall, and I’m done!

Why am I sharing this?! Well, I read (or heard somewhere) that if you make your health change public that your chances of success go up… and I need all the extra help to succeed I can get!

What’s my plan? I’m going to go 30 days without eating processed sugar… including corn syrup. The frustrating thing is that sugar seems to be in EVERYTHING… even in bacon, ketchup, salad dressing and lunch meat! Sigh! I will not be going carb free but I’m going to try and minimize carbs without going hard core… as committing to going sugar-free is a challenge enough! 
I’m not sure if I’ll last longer than the 30 days but we will see. I just want to know if I FEEL better and THINK more clearly without sugar. Sadly, I am such a little sugar addict that trying to “just cut down” has not worked. The other day I did a trial run… I ate no sugar for a whole day!!! No sugar-infused coffee, no  ice cream, no fro yo and no sour apple caramel pops! I drank UNSWEETENED tea folks! I meant business! Ha! And the truth is… I felt better, saner (what?!) and more centered (read focused, less scatter-brained)… and that is awesome! 
Soooo… if you are one of the few caring souls to read this long commitment statement… thank you. Thank you in advance for your prayers and for supporting me, encouraging me, and not sabotaging me (lol, you know who you are) as I begin my journey in June. I believe God has a few lessons for me on this journey and I’m ready to learn them! Wish me luck… I’m sure I’ll need it! 
❤️Ann

Leave a comment