Not Just A Blonde

We are "Not Just" who we seem to be on this Earthly plane, but so much more. We are ALL children of a loving God who is calling us home to Love. This blog is dedicated to those of us on that journey together…

My sugar-free journey is soon coming to an end and I am still finding I crave sugar. Everyday I continue to be acutely aware of what I’m not able to eat. It’s not as hard to resist though as saying no is almost a habit. I’m curious to see how I will continue once this month is over! I am aware of certain foods triggering a “gotta have more” response and really don’t want to go THERE again, ya know?

Each of us has weaknesses and it’s become clear to me more than anything else that I am not just a sugar addict but a food addict… that is, I am hooked on using food or beverages for more than just sustenance and fuel but for coping and escape… sugar is just my food additive of choice! 😝 I can’t stop eating though so I’ve GOT to learn to say no not just to sugar but to all foods that tempt me by offering me distraction or a false way to cope with the difficulties or boredoms of this life.
Admitting this here is quite scary. My pride is screaming to me to stop, stop, STOP! “They will laugh at you!” pride snorts, “They will see you as weak and pathetic!” Well, humility suggests I need to fess up and allow myself to be vulnerable. Humility reassures me I’m not alone and that when I open up and let go of the fear of being judged then perhaps I will find a silver lining to my struggle… that of connection and encouragement from others who truly understand.
Yes, it’s been 28 days and I am feeling great! I feel great about making it this far and GRATEFUL for all of the lessons and for all of the positive feedback and encouraging words from others, both here, on Instagram, Facebook and in-person! 😊
❀️Ann

3 thoughts on “28th Day of my Sugar-Free Journey

  1. BJF says:

    I would NEVER EVER EVER think poorly of you for admitting any weakness or failing here or privately. I really do admire your strength and fortitude. I know your response is that you have neither. It would be my response too. I can understand that you are still aware of what you can’t have. Even though I found and got rid of the huge source of sodium in my diet, I’m still aware of things. We both have a LIFETIME of habit to overcome. You don’t have to do any of this alone. You have your Soul Sisters. Use them. Lean on them. Talk to them. You have chosen these women to be in your life for a reason.

    Pride needs to STFU. You are NOT weak. You are NOT pathetic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you BJF! I’m listening to Humility and doing good! Your right… I’ve got some wonderful people in my life who are more precious than gold! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. BJF says:

        Then tell Pride to back off. Those friends have your back.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

