Not Just A Blonde

We are "Not Just" who we seem to be on this Earthly plane, but so much more. We are ALL children of a loving God who is calling us home to Love. This blog is dedicated to those of us on that journey together…

I have come to realize we can never be good enough for this world. We cannot be nice enough, thin enough, not rich enough, not talented enough, not giving enough, not organized enough, not smart enough… so I gave it up.

There seems to be a catch… many people have not given up their expectations for me. I disappoint them, annoy them, frustrate them… and why shouldn’t I? My lack of perfection is quite clear… and I don’t try to hide it.

I will often volunteer my mishaps, my embarrassing moments, my mistakes, my regrets, my weaknesses to others. No, it’s not false humility, or for attention, it feels like almost a confession of sorts. I confess to you all that I’m not perfect, so, guess what?! You don’t have to be either!

Yet, others could use this information against me I suppose. I could be gossiped about, undermined, back-stabbed or betrayed, yet this does not deter me. Announcing my humanity is too important to let petty fears or insecurities stop me from what I believe is an important act of love.

Love requires us to be authentic and vulnerable. Love requires we are open to one another. We often can relate to each other through our weaknesses. We can truly connect to each other when we have a glimpse of each others “real”ness!

The truth is, if we want to make everyone happy all the time and never ever make a mistake… it is an impossible goal. We cannot ever be perfect enough to gain admiration or continual love from the world or anyone in it. The world’s rules are set up to sabotage us and to pull us into darkness.

Our hope lies in accepting our brokenness and allowing ourselves to be vulnerable. With God’s grace and with the encouragement of others, some days we might succeed in being a better version of ourselves. Yet, there will be many days we will fall and fail and flail around wondering if we will ever get it right!

With God in our hearts and with Love as our focus we can let go of trying to be better than everyone else. We can let go of trying to become what others expect of us. We can let go of comparisons. We can let go of the false-idol of Perfectionism and be humbled by this truth:
We can never be good enough for this world, but we are always good enough for God.Jesus came to let us know we are saved… not by anything we could ever do, but because of who we are… God’s precious children!
โค๏ธAnn

IMG_1411.JPG

10 thoughts on “Never Good Enough For This World

  1. silentwindofchange says:

    Exactly, and here is my similar version of your post.

    http://silentwindsofchange.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/a-thought-came-to-me-yesterday/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think God wants us to really GET this! ๐Ÿ˜‰Loved your post! Thank you for sharing! โค๏ธAnn

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Chas says:

    Ann, the problem in the world is whom we allow to be the arbiters of what we ought to be like. Who is it that sets the standards for thinness, or riches, or the right place to live? It is those whom someone else has chosen to call ‘famous,’ or ‘celebrities.’ Why do they make these people their standard? Because they themselves feel inadequate in some way, so they set these people up as someone to want to be like. If you examine the lives of these celebrities, they themselves feel inadequate in some way, so they pursue a lifestyle to try to make themselves feel better about themselves. Thus our right response is to accept ourselves as we are, and if we are unhappy about that, then ask God to change us into what She wants us to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know any celebrities well enough to know if what you say is true any more than it is for the rest of us, yet I doubt that popularity or celebrity status can protect someone from feeling inadequate.

      We, with a societal group consensus, set the standards for perfection. I do not believe we can blame the celebrity minority for this. Part of our Earth experience consists of learning to let go of what the world seems as perfect and valuable to embrace what true value is. I believe perfection is an earthly idol.
      โค๏ธAnn

      Like

      1. Chas says:

        Ann, I don’t blame the celebrities, but it is we ourselves who put them up on a pedestal and consider that they are people to admire. I suggest that you look at the biography of any celebrities whom you choose and you will find that almost all have been damaged in some way by their upbringing. These are people rather to be pitied than lauded, because they spend their lives trying to achieve something that will make them feel better about themselves. Maybe they don’t even know what that is. As to those who define the ‘societal group consensus’, who are they? Probably more of the same. If we take their definition of perfection, then clearly perfection can never be found. Only God can set the standard for perfection.

        It is not often recognized, but the people who are most happy do not usually achieve anything that the remainder of society would judge to be noteworthy, because they are content as they are and are not driven to succeed by some unfulfilled desire. If they do achieve something that is noteworthy, it is usually because of a God-given talent that they have, that others have harnessed to try to further some desire of their own.

        Like

      2. Thank you Chas for sharing your thoughts here. It is true that the folks who are the most content and peaceful often have very little of what we would consider of earthly value but are rich in spiritual gifts.
        โค๏ธAnn

        Like

  3. BJF says:

    Well here’s some good news: I love you and I’m sure there are loads of others who love you, and love you JUST. THE. WAY. YOU. ARE.

    Who cares what the world thinks? Do they have to wake up beside you every morning? Help take care of your kids? Work beside you on a daily basis? Do they pay your bills? Sit beside you and hold your hand or offer a shoulder to cry on when you’re having a bad day? Would they bring a shovel and body bag if there were someone you had to dispose of secretly? Do they make you laugh? Would they help you in any way possible if you needed it?

    I’m sick of the world. We have such petty standards that we expect everyone else to live up to, but not ourselves. It’s the old motto: “Do as I say, not as I do.” The world idolizes people like the Kardashians and the Honey Boo Boos and ignore the real people who should be idolized: teachers, police (there are some decent ones around despite the bad press they seem to get a lot) firemen, and a whole host of others. What we idolize our children will idolize and the cycle will go on.

    You are perfect in my eyes, whatever you believe your imperfections to be. And if being perfect in the eyes of God and me ain’t good enough for you, we’ll take our toys and go home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. BJF, You make quite a few good points… and thank you! I think you are perfectly imperfect too! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      โค๏ธAnn

      Like

  4. kabergsa says:

    This got me wanting to listen to one of my favorite Casting Crowns songs “Who Am I” (some lyrics: “not because of what I’ve done – but because of who you are”) These days I am often quick to acknowledge my imperfections or mistakes, though I often have not forgiven myself for them. This reminds me that God believes that I am good enough. I need to trust God understands and knows my heart. Because you are right, I am never going to be good enough in this world. I just need to remember that because of Jesus, I don’t have to be perfect here today. โค

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If we remember these things we will save ourselves a lot of stress, disappointment and dysfunction for sure! โค๏ธ

      Like

Leave a Reply

